Dr. Sarasvati Mohan

Dr. Mohan studied Sanskrit under a tutor Pandit in the traditional method from the time she was six years old. She got her Masters and Ph.D. in Sanskrit at Madras University, doing research in unpublished manuscripts of Sanskrit literature.

Dr. Mohan has taught for three decades. Students enjoy her vast knowledge, experience and articulate teaching methods, which blend both eastern and western techniques. Also her technique of reference method is very encouraging even for people frightened by the old traditional rote method. Dr. Mohan was on the faculty of Madras University, India and also of Wesleyan University in U.S.

Some students' comments:

Dear Dr. Mohan, Your letters, so caring and beautiful make us feel surprised that something in our lives has unexpectedly changed.
Your teaching makes us feel beyond the SAMSARA and a new sense of protection we feel in our mind and heart. We hope we have succeeded to express our feelings although they are so new to us.

Seven Levels of Sanskrit Courses
offered by
Dr. Sarasvati Mohan

For more information contact by email at .

Each course requires meeting of maximum 15 hours and weekly homework of around five hours. Each one of these courses is equal to a semester of the University language course. These courses offer step by step exposure and introduction to the divine language. Depending on the student's interest and background, after 1-2 years, he/she student should be able to translate and understand texts like the Bhagavad-gita.

1. Sanskrit Level 1 With this, one can read and write correctly; the student will be able to read perfectly any text in Sanskrit. The focus of exercises is according to the major interest of the student: Yoga, Ayurveda, or general. This level is in the form of correspondence course also.

2. Sanskrit Level 2 This gives fundamental knowledge of major concepts of Sanskrit language, such as verb, noun, pronoun, adjective and also about case, gender and others. The student will be able to construct atleast 750 simple sentences in Sanskrit. This level is in the form of correspondence course also.

3. Sanskrit Level 3 Readings include interesting stories and memorable Slokas. The main emphasis here is on Sandhi, euphonic combination. With fifteen exercises of Sandhi, the student gets a solid foundatiion in the so called problematic aspect of the language. Sandhi exercises are selected from the Gita. This level is in the form of correspondence course also.

4. Sanskrit Level 4 Lessons include stories and Subhashitas . Students apply their knowledge of Sandhi in order to decipher the lessons; exercises concentrate on Sandhi and different aspects of the verb and its use.

5. Sanskrit Level 5 Readings include selected text from the original Ramayana. Students get a deeper feel of the holy language with exercises from a broad selection of Sanskrit literature. They also gain strength in translating authentic texts.

6. Sanskrit Level 6 Readings include selections from challenging Sanskrit prose works; the main focus here is on compounds.

7. Sanskrit Level 7 Readings include memorable Slokas from literature and anthologies (Subhashitas). Here the main focus is on meter (Chandas): how to scan the meter and fully feel the force of the Slokas. This course helps the interested student even to write some simple Slokas (metrical compositions).

Correspondence Courses: The first four levels of courses described above are available in correspondence also. Complete guidance and supervision will be provided in addition to the teaching material. For details on the Correspondence courses, click here. Correspondence

If a University wants to verify these details, the administrators can contact Dr. Sarasvati Mohan at .